The Complete Fisher Forum Forum Index The Complete Fisher Forum
Social, Fly, Coarse and Sea Fishing with Fly Tying

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   Referral CenterReferral Center    CalendarCalendar    RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in   ChatChat    Fisheries DatabaseFisheries   Donate    RSS Feed
http://www.thornwoodtroutfishery.com/

Help Please
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic       The Complete Fisher Forum Forum Index -> Fly Fishing Discussion -> Tackle Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
AlexH
500 Post Club

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 9:36 pm    Post subject: Help Please Reply with quote

My dearly beloved's father is taking up the noble art. He had a half day lesson in Scotland and was offered a Hardy Ultralite and Sovereign combo for £700 ish.. I think this is outrageous and was thinking about alternatives.. As a beginner i think it's daft to spend this sort of money, although it is available, and have suggested the following (to be used on a small stillwater and river)

Greys GRXi and GRXI reel with COrtland 444 floating line.

Greys Greyflex with GRXi reel

Sage Fli and Lamson Velocity.

I think a mid action is best for a beginner, he will want some decent kit, and whether or not we think an odyssey/rimfly option is best for a beginner it wont cut the mustard. what would you recommend for say £400 as a max for an outfit.

cheers
royvs
1,000 Post Club

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a FLi in a #3 weight and really like it but, as we all know rods differ in their characteristics in different ratings.

However, I know a chap in the other place who is an excellent fisherman and he swears by the FLi #6 for still water work.

I think it's a quality rod at a decent price.

You definately won't go wrong with Lamson reels..I have far too many Embarassed What about a Konic?
Wizard