The Complete Fisher Forum Forum Index The Complete Fisher Forum
Social, Fly, Coarse and Sea Fishing with Fly Tying

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   Referral CenterReferral Center    CalendarCalendar    RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in   ChatChat    Fisheries DatabaseFisheries   Donate    RSS Feed
http://www.sølvblank.no

Starting off

Post new topic   Reply to topic       The Complete Fisher Forum Forum Index -> Fly Fishing Discussion -> Fly Casting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Adam1988

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 3:25 pm    Post subject: Starting off Reply with quote

Hi there. I'm new to fly fishing and am looking to have a few lessons to get me going. Iv been a few times but have not yet got my own rod and reel as not sure what to start off with. I'll be fishing lakes to start off with and I live in Kent (Maidstone) if anyone has any information of one to one tuition that would be of help. Or just what type of rod / reels to go for. I don't want to just get cheap gear as I want it to last.
Kind regards
Adam.
BlankDay
2,500 Post Club

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello mate and welcome.

A quick Google showed one or two tackle shops in Maidstone where I'm sure get some good advice. One other piece of advice you probably won't get is not to let them fleece you initially, or talk you into buying tackle you may or may be able to afford. There will be soooo much time for that later.

Register to a tackle emporium and you'll receive magazines with gear, usually with a short description of their intended use.

I get my catalogue and stuff from the Glasgow Angling Centre, but there many more out there. John Norris I have received orders from and they're quuite smart at shipping. Give them a phone or e-mail and I'm sure they'll be only too happy to help.

Best luck.

BD
Chris
Site Admin